ABBA to play instead of Jackson at 02?

Concert Promoters AEG have put their feelers out to try and find a replacement to play at London’s O2 Arena for the 50 dates Michael Jackson was supposed to perform. They have 23,000 seats to fill in the now-empty venue, are keeping their options open.

Among the possibilities floating around are an all-star Michael Jackson tribute tour, a Jackson family concert, and even an ABBA reunion!

Lucy Ellison, a spokeswoman for O2 operator AEG Europe, “At the moment we’re just waiting for the funeral to be out of the way and we’ll let people know in due course. We’re thinking about Michael Jackson now. We’re just a very small part in this very tragic story.”

The Sun reported today that AEG was talking to 1970s super group ABBA about reuniting to play the O2. But AEG denies the story.

Fans are also suggesting Whitney Houston do her comeback concert at O2, since she is coming out with her first album in nine years.

AEG seems to think a Jackson family concert is the best of all the ideas. However, it’s unlikely that they would be able to sell out all, if any, of the 50-night run.

The best bet for AEG would be to book a few different artists to each play a series of dates. Because when it comes down to it, no one in the music industry could probably sell that place out on their own. Who would you like to see play at O2 in Michael’s place?

If ABBA perform inplace of Michel, I would want to go! They are my favourite band.
– xMr Funguin
13 comments on “ABBA to play instead of Jackson at 02?

  1. Agnetha, Björn, Benny, Anni-Frid = ABBA

    Not a big favorite of mine. But I still respect you. XD

    Led Zeppelin could fill those seats with no problemo!

    Mr Funguin Says: ¬_¬

  2. Well, maybe you could sit and listen to Abba “Greatest Hits Vol 1 and 2 some evening over a bottle of fizzy pop.

    Call me, we will sing along.

    • Ready for a story?
      When I was young, I heard a song “Mamma Mia” and knew 1-2 lines. I didnt know who sang it. One day, recently, I googled it and found out ABBA sang it. I went on YouTube and watched and listened to the song. It was COOL! So I listened to ‘ABBA’s other songs. They were awesome!
      Since then, I have loved all ABBA songs.
      I just hope I don’t become a Dancing Queen 😉

  3. OMG…. you stole my joke!!!! I was going to say that in my last comment, but thought it might be a tad homophobic. ROFL!!! Dancing Queen was a disco favorite… but that is about all for the one hit wonder

    And, then you won’t believe this, but I was going to ask you if your dear mum might have sang one of those songs to you when you were in nappies. I was close. I knew there had to be some deep rooted reason for this. ABBA isn’t in the pick of the week for you Ipod downloads.

Leave a Reply

