iOS 6 – My Predictions

WWDC or the World Wide Developer Conference, is Apple’s week to shine in the world of everything software and hardware.

I’m not going to talk about iCloud, the Mac line, OS X Mountain Lion or about the new iPhone in the post because I think that’s been covered about 1000 times each week. We will see the new iPhone in October just the iPhone 4S! Let forget about it until then? 😆

~~~

If you asked me yesterday or a week ago wheather or not Apple would unveil iOS 6, I would have said “Maybe..”.

If you ask me today, I would say “Yes!” because there is now solid evidence of one of Apple’s topics.

Apple has put up some posters for iOS 6 around their campus and this kind of thing gets me excited! :). Note the new logo for iOS 6. Its a change from the bubbly ones 😉

iOS, if you didn’t know, is Apple’s platform for their mobile operating system. It’s found on the iPhone, iPad and iPod Touch. There have been 5 major iterations of iOS and the next one gets unveiled on Monday.

I don’t know what iOS 6 will bring but this is what I’m hoping to see.

3D Maps – No More Google

This has been rumoured for a while before the leaked photographs began to show up. Google announced their version before Apple did which kinda confirms that Apple will certainly unveil their own. I’m hoping we get new 3D Mapping software to compete with Google’s new 3D maps on Android. 

Widgets

I also want to see some sort of widgets on the iPhone/iPod/iPad. iOS 5 brought out notification centre. A whole new way to see your notifications. It’s far from perfect, but its a great addition.

It would be great to see notification centre being used for more than just notifications. Turning Wi-Fi on and off (and more) from there would be a good addition.

Sure, I can jailbreak my phone to get these features but I shouldn’t have to.

Siri

Siri is an amazing start for what it is right now. Its a personal digital assistant that talks and listens to you. CEO of Apple, Tim Cook, said that ”users should stay tuned” when asked about improvments to Siri.

I really hope they open up the Siri API. Opening the API means that developers can have access to Siri when they want. For example, you could ask Siri to post a tweet, update a status, open an app or take a picture – without pressing any buttons. I thought they deeply intergrated twitter in to the OS in iOS 5, so why I can’t I tweet with Siri?

It would be cool if they added more commands to Siri such as ‘reduce brightness’, ‘bluetooth on/off’ and more. 

Finally, it would be amazing if they took that beta tag off Siri, but something tells me that they will launch a full blown Siri app for the next iPhone before they do that.  There is also speculation that Siri will be brought to the 3rd generation iPad. It would further improve the selling points for the new iPad. That would amazing too.

~~~

These are my top features for iOS 6. I’m also expecting some clean-up around the OS itself, just as iOS 5 did which should make the overall experience smoother than ever! Don’t forget, you will be able to download iOS 6 over-the-air from your current iOS 5 devices.

I am uber excited for iOS 6 and can’t wait to see what features lay in wait! The event takes place at 10AM PST thats 6PM GMT.

iOS 6 is expected to debut a release with the new iPhone in October. That sounds about right because it’s what happen last year.

~~~

But lets take a moment to think about what we wont see at the conference. Steve Jobs. He surely was a genious beyond anything in the world and after his passing away, he still lives on in the form of these gadgets we can’t live without.

It will be the first major Apple event where he will not be present. May he rest in peace.

What’s on your wishlist? If you have an Android device, what are you favourite features for it?

Did you like this post? Please take 2 seconds to rate the post below. Thanks!

– Mr Fun

8 comments on “iOS 6 – My Predictions

  1. Apple’s decision to embrace artificial intelligence with its new voice-controlled Siri personal assistant was undeniably a good shout

    I think you are working for Apple! You are way too informed. 😉

    Great post… even if it was some over my head! I better get more informed before I make comments!

  2. Great predictions!

    Maps was totally redesigned, from the bottom up! 3D Satellite mode is amazing!
    With Siri’s new functions, I don’t need any friends no more.
    They now added local restaurant search to Siri (for Canada)!
    They finally added turn by turn!
    They are really close to wiping out the competition!

    • Maps and Siri are my most favourite additions.
      Finally! local search! No longer will Siri say: “I’m sorry, but I can only look for businesses, maps and traffic in the United States. And when you’re using U.S English”… lol

      Turn by turn is awesome too. Can’t wait to try it out !

  3. I KNOW!
    “I’m Sorry, I can’t look for places in Canada”
    That made me so angry!

    But thank god it’s coming!
    And yeah, can’t wait to try turn by turn! And Flyover!

  4. Did anyone remember the old fashion map? Holy my Ghost…. I know this is the age of instant gradification…. but …

Leave a Reply

